Managing deleted files
When trash functionality is enabled for Communities, community owners can manage deleted community files by restoring them to the community or by permanently deleting them from the system.
You can tell if trash is enabled for your deployment by checking if the Move to Trash option is available from the More Actions menu for individual files. If you see the Delete option instead of Move to Trash, this means that trash is not enabled.
If trash is enabled, when community members remove files from a community, those files are moved to the trash rather than being completely deleted from the community. The files are held in the trash until a community owner either deletes them permanently or restores them to the community.
Any community member can view the content of the trash, but you must be a community owner to restore files from the trash. Community owners can manage the trash content by checking it periodically and emptying it when files are no longer needed.
Note: Trash can also be emptied automatically on a scheduled. The default period is 90 days. Once the trash is emptied, no content can be restored.
To manage deleted files:
From the navigation bar, click Communities and select the community whose files you want to manage.
In the community menu, click Files then select Trash in the side panel.
Do one of the following:
- To restore a file to the community, click the arrow next to the file and select Restore.
- To delete a file from the trash, click the arrow next to the file and select Delete. To delete all the files in the trash, click Empty Trash. When you select either option, the file or files are permanently removed and the option to restore it to the community is no longer available.
Parent topic:Organizing content in community files